Monday, May 10, 2010
Wow, this morning came way too early. I don’t know why I felt more tired than other mornings; it wasn’t as if I had less sleep than normal. Anyways, I don’t think I actually woke up till after 3rd period. We have to leave so early, after a while it wears on you. Not to mention the heat.
I thought the day would go so smoothly. We had a PE class with grade 4 first thing, then health class with the Ks, and both grade 1 classes, watching the dance class and a grade 3 PE class to finish it off. Boy was I wrong! PE went okay in the morning, however the health class with the K’s was a GONG show. I mean, they have no concept of listening and obeying the teacher. They talked, banged their desks, shuffled books, poked their neighbor, and the list goes on. There was 3 adults in the room too!! It was myself, Shelby and Pam. I was trying to read a story and the kids were just not into it at all!. It was a HUGE sigh of relief when we were finished the class. It was too bad to, because it was a good lesson (at least I thought). It was all about emotions and feelings and being able to identify why we feel the way we do.
When we taught the 1’s in the afternoon it went much better. The only downside is that the teachers stay in the room and laugh at us when we teach. It really makes me self conscious. I don’t think they think what we’re teaching is valuable. It’s really frustrating to put a lot of effort into something and feel as if you’re being mocked.
At lunch we had quite the adventure. One of the kindergarten kids came in crying and he was COVERED in blood. Apparently some other kids were throwing rocks at a tree and missed. I was surprised at how well I did in the situation because of my lack of ability to deal with blood. I ran to my first aide kit and whipped on my gloves. I held his hand and tried to calm him down while Shelby dealt with the head wound. It was an adventure indeed. They ended up taking him to the hospital. He should be fine, but it was scary none the less.
So tomorrow is PACKED. We leave at 6:45am to be on “Good Morning Antigua”. Basically the equivalent to “Regis and Kelly”. Pretty cool eh? After that, we are going to be part of the Pro-D-Day workshops for the entire island. Jo, Jen D. Pam, Alysha, and I are leaving early to talk to the president of the Rotary club too. AND then, we are going into town to visit LOGOS before they depart. They are the retired navy ship that is equipped with a library. They crew is all Christian and run by students (who have to commit to a minimum 2 year commitment!!!). Anyways, they depart on Wednesday so a bunch of us want to go see it before they leave. Admission is only $2 EC which is less than $0.50 Canadian. Tomorrow will be good, but SOOO busy. Can’t wait to find out how it will all play out.
PS sorry about the lack of pictures. The internet connection is ridiculous and I can't seem to load anything. I've tried, trust me! Know that I am a nice shade of brown and the kids are adorable!
